Even if all the free folk of the world begged him?

[My apologies if I make any mistakes or commit any faux pas in this post. I’ve been an attentive listener to the podcast since commencement but this is my first time putting a response down proper, feel free to provide guidance if this breaks any rules or guidelines, unstated or otherwise.]

In session 176, I detected some confusion around Gandalf’s hypothetical referendum and entreaties to Tom Bombadil to protect the ring. Specifically, around the more likely scenario Gandalf gives, that he would discard it. While immediately puzzling, I think its a telling indication of Bombadil’s nature. It might appear callous, especially considering that it would only occur after every free-person in Middle Earth has entreated him; but I believe that to be the point. It’s always been my belief that Gandalf is stressing that even if some (realistically impossible) agreement could place the responsibility at his feet (or more precisely his boots), EVEN that level of incredible global consensus would not change his nature in the slightest.

As Gandalf has stated, the ring has no mastery over him. And by extension, we maybe have to wonder if anything does?

Tolkien in his letters, spoke to this a number of times, so curious did many people find Bombadil. But I don’t know if that’s something we generally avoid here, in order to approach the text in its ongoing state without remembering ahead (for instance Sam’s ring induced vision in Mordor) and later reflections from Tolkien himself (Letters 144 & 153). But to address this seemingly blasé attitude of a person who would throw away an object Every Single Person in the free world asked them to protect, even in the novel thus far I think we’ve begun to see a fundamental disconnect between Tom and the affairs of the great forces in middle earth.