Diplomacy and Heirlooms: The Crafty Navigating of Elrond

manofgont

I fluctuate between being caught up with the episodes and falling behind by 1 or 2. I do listen asynchronously, since I live in Belgium, so it would be quite late (or early) to listen live. This is my first time posting. I realize this is now a couple shows back, but just had some thoughts about how Elrond structured the telling of the history of the ring and why he cut off Bilbo's story right before its conclusion.
While this passage only describes the summary of events shared by Bilbo concerning how he came to possess the ring, it does raise two very important questions:
What purpose does Elrond have for ordering the telling of the history of the ring as he does?
Why does Elrond abruptly cut off Bilbo’s story right before Bilbo describes his passing of the ring to Frodo?
Boromir had just asked two very important questions about the ring: “How does the Wise know that this ring is his? And how has it passed down the years until it is brought hither by so strange a messenger?” (pg. 249)