Ambarussa: twin problems

Rachel

Hi guys! I've been listening to the SilmFilm podcasts for quite a while, but I'm kinda new to the whole forum thing (and I missed last week's episode...), so the issue I'm about to bring up may have already been discussed. If this has already been discussed, I apologize!

So, as you all are probably aware, in an earlier (unpublished) version of the Silmarillion, one of the twins (I'm pretty sure it was Amrod, but I could be mistaken) is killed off long before the kinslaying at Sirion. In the earlier draft, he dies an accidental death at Losgar, when Feanor orders the burning of the ships. Amrod supposedly gets trapped on one of the ships and....burns with them???? Whereas in the published Silmarillion, both twins survive until the 3rd kinslaying.

So my question is: which version does everybody prefer, and why? Which version do we think should be used in SilmFilm?

I personally prefer the unpublished version of Amrod's death, because I think there's value in its tragic irony: the first casualty among the sons of Feanor is Feanor's own doing. Thematically speaking, I think it helps to set the tone for the rest of the series, and foreshadows the long slow decline into what becomes a really terrible situation for the Noldor (and everybody around them).

In any case, I'd really love to hear people's thoughts on this!

(It's possible that I'm asking this question waaaayyyy too far in advance, and I apologize if that's the case. I think the burning of the ships at Losgar will occur sometime during Season 3, no?)

Glad you're on board! Yes, this topic has come up and people (MithLuin, as I recall) have been reasoning along the lines you are proposing. I can't recall where this was discussed though.
It's a question that will have to be resolved relatively soon. Personally I can live with either versions but choosing storylines that add tragedy is always worth considering, I think. So I lean towards Amrod dying accidentally at Losgar.